School Information

The San Francisco Unified School District (SFUSD) is the seventh largest school district in California, educating over 57,000 students every year. San Francisco is both a city and a county; therefore, SFUSD administers both the school district and the San Francisco County Office of Education (COE). This makes SFUSD a “single district county.”

SFUSD is governed by an elected seven-member Board of Education.

SFUSD Mission Statement

The mission of the San Francisco Unified School District is to provide each student with an equal opportunity to succeed by promoting intellectual growth, creativity, self-discipline, cultural and linguistic sensitivity, democratic responsibility, economic competence, and physical and mental health so that each student can achieve his or her maximum potential.

SFUSD Schools

As of the 2015-16 school year, SFUSD has:

  • 64 elementary schools (K-5)
  • 8 alternatively configured schools (K-8)
  • 13 middle schools(6-8)
  • 19 high schools (9-12)
  • 16 transitional kindergarten schools
  • 13 active charter schools authorized by the district

For more in-depth information on the San Francisco Unified School District, please visit their website here.

Communities Served

Click on a community to find out more!